h1

David Gray – Live in Slow Motion – 2005

May 17, 2010

I first happened upon this album in California. Streetside Records in Santa Cruz had a used copy of it for 6.99. I had heard a lot of good things about Mr. Gray from a few people, and had heard cuts off of White Ladder some time earlier and liked it. I didn’t love it, but I liked it. So, I took a chance. As soon as I put it on my white brick of an ipod and listened all the way through, I loved it. As the initial track, “Alibi,” pans in through the beautiful harmonies of the full orchestra accompaniment, David Gray comes in with a sultry, scratchy British accent proclaiming, “Tonight, I’m running wild.” And from there, he dives head first into his all-too-common insanity in the face of change and love and loss. It’s a beautiful collection of songs, each one an artistic prize of self-realization. And, one thing that I adore about David Gray is his unabashed, unashamed exploration of the things that dominate his mind. In “Ain’t No Love,” he remorsefully sings, “Maybe that it’d do me good if I believed there was a God out in the starry firmament… This ain’t no love that’s guiding me.” He courageously explores the depths of his own loss of faith and doubt in the things he wants to be true. And we, the listeners, get to sit intently by and follow him on his journey of self-discovery. This album has blown my mind time and time again, and is nothing if not highly recommended. My favorite track, by far, is the conclusion of the album, entitled “Disappearing World.” It’s simplicity and truth is beautiful. But, don’t take my word for it:

Disappearing World
Slow Motion

Leave a Reply

